Where was John Mayer’s Publicist?

John Mayer (a possible future grownup) gave a tearful apology during his Nashville concert last Wednesday after backlash concerning his stream of consciousness playboy interview.

The interview (which can be viewed here in full at playboy.com) features Mayer using the n-word while talking about his “hood-pass”, refers to a certain body part of his as a white supremacist, and says some less than nice things about his ex girlfriends Jessica Simpson and Jennifer Aniston. Mayer also apologized via his twitter account, saying:

Re: using the ‘N word’ in an interview: I am sorry that I used the word,”

“And it’s such a shame that I did because the point I was trying to make was in the exact opposite spirit of the word itself. It was arrogant of me to think I could intellectualize using it because I realize that there’s no intellectualizing a word that is so emotionally charged

Where was John’s publicist? Did anybody know the questions that would be asked in his interview? Did anybody go over what he planned on saying? As a fan of John Mayer’s music (emphasis on music), I find it sad that being talented may not be enough to make it big these days, that being shocking and inappropriate is the edge you need to make it far in the music industry. I think his apology was genuine but I’m not sure why he would think it was in good humor to make comments that would alienate some of his fans. I don’t think his intention was to sound like a homophobic-racist-chauvinist… but I think it’s safe to say he did. My advice to Mayer: more guitar playing, less talking, and revocation of hood-pass!

4 responses to “Where was John Mayer’s Publicist?

  1. I completely agree! When the story first broke I remember wondering what he and his publicist were thinking coming out with those awful comments and obviously I should have been asking what was he smoking? He has talent, but needs to learn when to keep his mouth shut. I always hate it when celebrities over-share, but when they use vulgar and offensive language and discuss some of the things he did in the Playboy article, it ridiculous. I agree that he probably didn’t mean to come off sounding the way he did, I just think he needs to think a little more before his interviews. I would recommend that Mayer starts investing some of his money in a good PR firm.

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « The Road Less Traveled

  3. I agree with you and Kristina I think he needs to invest in a really good PR firm to get some of the heat off of him. I also agree that he probably didn’t mean to say that or even come off sounding like he was ignorant, but it happen and now he needs to fix it. Most of the time they know what’s going to be asked and in this case it seems that he or, his publicist did not do their home work. Also, I think he need to do more than just say sorry for the “n word” maybe a sorry to Jessica and Jennifer too.

  4. Pingback: Comments: « Jessica Teal's Blog

Leave a Reply

