What Do You Want From Me?

Okay- I had to do a PR Connection about Tiger Woods. Not because I think he is a horrible scum bag. Not because I have some funny joke involving the witty usage of golf terms and innuendo. I had to do a post about Tiger because I want to know what exactly a person has to do to finally curve the hunger of the seemingly starving media. I just have to know; what exactly do they want from Tiger?

I have seen more than a few blog post on PR advice for Tiger, here is some advice from Business Week, followed by my opinion (of course):

The public likes results. If Tiger played well people would start to forget about his personal life and start focusing on his professional golf career. Okay, so he is playing again.. problem solved.

If you’re a winner that trumps bad behavior. He may not exactly be back on the top, but he isn’t exactly on the bottom.

If the public feels sorry for you it doesn’t matter how crazy you acted. Sorry, I don’t think he is going to have luck with this one.

Apologize and take the heat. The public likes that. Well he has apologized, but the media said that it just wasn’t quite good enough. Come on people- he didn’t cheat on you, he cheated on his wife.

I just have a hard time figuring out what infidelity and golf have in common. Why are we so obsessed with the personal lives of celebrities? What is it that makes us feel like we have been personally betrayed when they end up being someone other than who we thought they were?

2 responses to “What Do You Want From Me?

  1. I think that the media should back away from Tiger. I saw him on the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of the Masters tournament in my hometown of Augusta, Ga. He received a great welcome back to the sport of golf and seemed to have no negative reviews or actions towards him. I sort of wish that the news channels would let the subject go and report real news that effects me. I just don’t find Tiger Woods’ life as relevant news worthy story. I believe that with time the media will find a new person to examine and keep 24 hour tabs on, but until then I guess I will try to filter my news and find something really worth paying attention to.

  2. Pingback: Caroline’s Comments « Caroline's Connections to Public Realtions

Leave a Reply

